Perspective

So I volunteer at a local hospital. My job is just to comfort sad parents.

Interestingly, I got to talking to a teen mom. Poor thing, she just gave birth recently to a baby who was actually due months later! She told me her parents were really mad at her, and that they thought her life was basically over. Same old same old. It never ceases to amaze me the human capacity to be paralyzed by fear. That’s what struck me about her parents. So afraid of what they had no guarantee for, yet so certain of that fear. Life is what we make it to be. And if you choose fear, that’s what you’re going to see.

The mom delivered the baby because “this was my baby, and their grandchild”. And I told her, she really has nothing to worry about if having an adorable baby is the worst thing in the world. And that her parents should worry about real life threatening situations. Like getting hit by a bus. Then it’ll really be over (potentially). 

I am not trying to minimize the enormity of the task ahead, but I am questioning the fear approach of embracing change. It just doesn’t strike me as productive, or supportive. By contrast this mom has had to take charge of this life change against the will of her parents, and wait for them to grow up. And yesterday, they visited their grandbaby in the hospital. The first step of many, I hope.

Leave a Reply

