My life as a disposable partner

Oh Elle magazine. I usually only look to you for fashion…but today’s article hit me. 

http://www.elle.com/news/lifestyle/my-life-as-a-disposable-partner?src=spr_FBPAGE&spr_id=1448_71013400&linkId=8805546

Except the sobbing into gym socks. I’m not really a gym-going kinda gal. But it’s so true. There’s nothing worse than that feeling of being someone’s plan B, last resort, “my man’s away, so we can play” texts really sting. I’m not jealous, not for a moment. I’ve been trying to articulate the feeling. And it is exactly that disposable, unimportant feeling. That you’ve been friends for so long and suddenly cast aside. Suddenly your opinions don’t factor. And your best friend? She’s got a life now. As if to say, your life before wasn’t anything important. 

Hmm. Life is seasonal. I tell myself. And I enjoy the company of new friends. Until it happens again. Next time, it still hurts, but a little less. Because I’m a little bit older. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My life as a disposable partner

  1. Hmm… are you referring to those friends that went off and got married and had kids? That does change a life, quite a bit. And it makes that friend’s life a lot busier, and there are now a few extra people who not only appreciate her smiles and good cooking but may get her up several times at night, talk to her incessantly during the day, turn her living room upside down several times a day and in general leave her no space of her own. When she does get a free moment, she may just want some silence, by herself. Or she may look for advice from other experienced moms who have survived the chaos. It’s not that her best friends from her previous life are forgotten. She probably would love to go back to that time for a day. And if she can hang out with them once or twice a year, that is already a lot. Because a year has become like a day.

    • Lol! Awww. Not really. I understand the life of a mom is chaos and busy. It was more the brush off comment that I sympathized with. I have a good friend, a mom of 5, who always makes me feel listened to, and I listen to her. It’s all in the approach. I would not try to read this author’s mind (of the article) but I can say for my own, it’s in the approach. You can be busy, but you don’t need to brush me off. More of an etiquette issue, I think.

Leave a comment